Who invented these?

We’re walking to school.

“Who invented these clips?” she asks, pointing at the clip on the strap across her chest which joins the two shoulder straps of her school backpack.

Of course I have no idea.

“Who invented backpacks, anyway?” she continues, deepening the inquiry.

I still have no idea, but doubt that any person did.

I ask: “Who invented little girls who ask so many questions?”

“Daddy, that’s silly.  Nobody did.”

“See!” I say, as if the implication were obvious and the matter closed.

“That doesn’t mean nobody invented these clips.” she smartly replies, putting me in check.

“You’re quite right,” I say, very pleased with her logical deftness.   I give her a strong shoulder hug.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

