Conversations on the bike

Most days Lillian rides the tag-along bike to child care and back. Usually she doesn’t pedal much. Sometimes she just sings the whole way. Other times she likes to engage in spontaneous conversation. Often she’ll start by ringing her bell to get my attention.

Ding!

Pause.

“DADDY! WHEN I RING THE BELL YOU HAVE TO SAY “WHAT?”!

“WHAT?”

“Gabby says that if she swallows her chewing gum she won’t die.”

“Uh-huh.”

“But she’s wrong. She will die, won’t she?”

*******************************

Ding!

“What?”

“Daddy am I going to turn five?”

“Yes, when you’ve grown up a bit more you’ll turn five.”

“Daddy, when I was a baby I was one. Then I grew up some more and was two. Then I grew up some more and was three. Then I grew up some more and was three and a big girl. Then I turned four. And now I’m going to turn five!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

