I can spell my name?

At the farm this weekend, Teresa spent a while on Saturday helping Lillian learn how to spell, and write, her own name.  She couldn’t quite get there.

On Sunday, she comes running to where I was sitting.

“Daddy, I can spell my name… without looking!” (i.e., without looking at a written version and reading off from that).

“REALLY? Can you show me?”

She says slowly, and with intense concentration: “L…i…l l…i………a…………n!”

She did seem to be looking, but at a mental image of her name – as if it was written out in front of her, but in her mind’s eye, not on paper.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

